Picking Up the Pieces: Lesson’s I Learned on the Way to my 28th Birthday

20130804_191511 - Copy

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. –Jeremiah 29:11

We all go through difficult seasons in our lives. We lose loved ones, jobs, husbands, wives, friends, money etc. Whenever you are going through a storm it may feel like your life has been shattered in a million pieces, trust me I know the feeling all too well. Over the last year I have learned to pick up the broken pieces in my life and put them back together.

A little over a year ago I was in a completely different place in my life. I was in a dead end job, with hopes of landing my dream job working on Capitol Hill. I was back in school pursuing my PhD. My finances were prosperous and I was planning on recommitting myself to my college sweetheart and proposing to her. In the last year, I not only did not capture my dream job, I got laid off! I’m no longer in school, my finical situation (appears) to be worst, and my college sweetheart told me she wanted to be with someone else!

My life seemed to be shattered in a million pieces, but God!

Today, on the eve of my 28th Birthday, I am more optimistic than ever. I may not have a job and much money, but all of my financial obligations are met. I’m not in school but learning more than ever before. My college sweetheart exited my life, but God sent a wonderful woman to me that have taught me, amongst other things, how to love again.

Here is how I learned to put the broken pieces in my life back together:

Seek God: Before you can have any transformation in your life you have to seek God and his word. I pray daily asking God for direction and seek him through praise and worship and by the reading of his word. Do not be intimidated by God’s word, it may seem daunting at first, but start by praying with a pure heart and let God guide you! (Suggested Reading: Genesis, Proverbs, Matthew, Luke, Romans, Ephesians, James)

Accept God’s Love: God is not mad at you! Let me say that again because it took me a long time to learn this lesson, God is not mad at you! Despite yourself and your sins God still loves you and wants to bless you! When you fall, pick yourself up, repent, and continue to seek God and move forward.

Remember Romans 8:38-39: And I am convinced that nothing can ever separate us from God’s love. Neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither our fears for today nor our worries about tomorrow—not even the powers of hell can separate us from God’s love. 39 No power in the sky above or in the earth below—indeed, nothing in all creation will ever be able to separate us from the love of God that is revealed in Christ Jesus our Lord.

Respect Boundaries: God wants to bless you, but be wary of asking for God’s blessings before you are ready for them. The Prodigal Son asked and received what was his before he was ready and his blessing became a nightmare. If you are asking God for a new job, wake up early every day and apply for work or if you are seeking promotion at your current job, go in every day and be a good worker. If you are asking God for money, manage what you already have, so that God can see you are ready for more. If you are asking God for a relationship, become the person you want God to send you. Excel where you are so that God may expand your boundaries. You have everything you need to thrive in the season of life you are in.

Change Your Mind: Change your mind, meaning the change the way you think and speak! If you can change your mind, you will change your words and if you change your words (declarations) you will change your life for the power of life and death is in the tongue. If you speak fear, worry, doubt, debt, unemployment, divorce, etc. that Is what you will reap. But if you speak truth, good health, love, and prosperity over your life you shall have it. Change your mind, change your words, and change your life!

Romans 12:2: Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind.

Let it Go: Ecclesiastes 3:1 states: To everything there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven. People, jobs, money, etc. come and go. Be happy and thank God when he blesses you with that relationship/friendship, job, promotion, finances, health, etc. And be happy and thank God when people decide they no longer want to apart of your life or when they pass on, when you lose that job, don’t get that promotion, etc. No matter how much it hurts, let go of your past, embrace your future and trust God.

I am so happy about the things God is about to do in my life and grateful for the things he has already done. Over the last year nothing has gone as I initially planned it, yet everything has gone exactly the way God has wanted it and because of that I am blessed and fortunate to be living my best life now!

One thought on “Picking Up the Pieces: Lesson’s I Learned on the Way to my 28th Birthday

Leave a Reply

