A Letter to My Father

Brandon J Sutton

“If I could get another chance

Another walk

Another dance with him

I’d play a song that would never ever end

How I’d love love love

To dance with my father again”

– Luther Vandross Dance with My Father

I was born in October of 1985, and my father passed away in January of 1987, so, unfortunately I do not have any memories of my father. I do not remember being held by him, his smile, or his laugh. My father prematurely passed away, but too many fathers’ today are walking out on their children.

According to government statistics 72% of African-American children are born to unwed mothers. The overwhelmingly majority of those children are in single-parent households headed by a woman. According to Children-our investment.org, homes without fathers ultimately affect children in tragic ways:

 

* 63 percent of youth suicides are from fatherless homes

* 90 percent of…

View original post 747 more words

Leave a Reply

