What Tony Madias Taught Me About Life

Anthony Frank “Tony” Madias, 26, of Davie, Florida formerly of Hollywood, Florida died as a result of an automobile accident on Saturday morning, May 12, 2012, on his way to work in Deerfield Beach, Florida.

         

The funny thing about living is we get so caught up in our day-to-day lives that we actually forget to live. We often forget to take time out for ourselves, tell someone close to us we love them, or take that trip we have been putting off.

I had the pleasure of knowing Anthony “Tony” Madias for half of my life, and while I mourn his death; I also celebrate his life. Tony was one of the kindest, caring, thoughtful, funniest, and loving guys I knew. His life has provided me with a blueprint on how to live my own life. This is what Tony Madias taught me about life:

1)       Live: – Life is for the living, so live each day to its full potential. If you want to go to school, go! If you want to take up a new activity, mentor a child, or move to a new city, do it! Live a life of no regrets.

2)       Love: – Make it your busy to tell someone you care about that you love them each and every day.

3)       Laugh: – Laughter reduces stress, Improve alertness, creativity, and memory. It will make a bad situation better.

4)       Learn: Do not hesitate to take on a new task. Expanding your knowledge base will open up new doors of opportunities for you.

5)       Give: Dedicating your life to a cause bigger than yourself is probably the greatest lesson I learned from Tony. He would never hesitate to put someone else before himself; he gave his time and energy to others without ever issuing a complaint.

Unfortunately, I will not be able to see my friend Tony off, but I prepared these remarks for one of the greatest guys I knew:

I met Anthony “Tony” Madias at Olsen Middle School where we frequently called him the “Big Show”. I can vividly remember sitting in Mr. Lerman’s class talking about the latest developments in professional wrestling or him playfully teasing me in Ms. Myers’s class about the crush I had on Katie. From the day I met him up until two days before his passing, which was the last time we chatted, he was always the same loving, caring, and thoughtful person I met nearly 15 years ago. I knew Tony for half of my life and it is hard envisioning the rest of my life without him.

While I mourn Tony’s life, I am encouraged by Matthew 5:4 (I know Tony, I know) “God blesses those who mourn, for they shall be comforted.” So for now, there will be no more discussions about mid-majors in college football, the current political happenings of the day, or friendly sparring on Facebook, I instead sit and wait on God’s comfort and look forward to the day we shall meet again. Until then, I will carry your memory with me wherever I go, Love You “Big Show”!

2 thoughts on “What Tony Madias Taught Me About Life

  1. Wow!!! How touching. Why I never had the pleasure of meeting Tony his life sure has changed mine!!! R.I.P. Tonu

Leave a Reply

